It's where Ada gets its news!
February 23, 2020

You are here

ONU to host 25 students for the LSAC DiscoverLaw.org PLUS program

The Ohio Northern University Pettit College of Law will host 25 students from around the nation for the Law School Admission Council (LSAC) DiscoverLaw.org Pre-Law Undergraduate Scholars (PLUS) Program beginning Monday, June 4.

The program is funded through a grant from LSAC. Law schools that qualify for PLUS grants receive as much as $100,000 per year for up to three years. This marks the third year that ONU’s College of Law has been involved in the program.

ONU was selected as one of three law schools in 2010 to receive the LSAC DiscoverLaw.org PLUS grant. The schools are selected based on the geographic location, targeted population, the strength of the school’s proposal and the law school’s demonstrated commitment to the program.

The program gives students the techniques necessary to succeed in law school and shows them legal career opportunities. Among other activities, PLUS students will take field trips to local courts, the Ohio Supreme Court in Columbus, and the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center in Cincinnati.

PLUS programs seek college students from racial and ethnic minority groups that are underrepresented in the legal profession. The program is designed for college freshmen and sophomores, and preference is given to students who have registered with DiscoverLaw.org

The 2012 participating students are from Robert Morris University, Ohio Northern University, Southern University at New Orleans, Miami Dade College, Drew University in New Jersey, High Point University in North Carolina, Spelman College in Georgia, DePaul University in Illinois, Wilberforce University in Ohio, Central State University in Ohio, Bennett College in North Carolina, Xavier University of Louisiana, Florida State University, Norwich University in Vermont, Florida International University, St. Edward’s University in Texas, Pennsylvania State University, North Carolina Central University, the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Northern Virginia Community College, and the University of Michigan.