It's where Ada gets its news!
Ada Sports
December 11, 2018

You are here

Women's swim/dive wins first meet of season

 In its first dual meet of the season, the Ohio Northern women's swimming and diving team posted a convincing 203-59 victory over Wilmington on Friday evening at the Wilmington Natatorium.

The Polar Bears improve to 1-0 on the season, while Wilmington falls to 0-1.

Northern finished first in all 14 events during the meet.

The Polar Bears opened the evening with a first place finish in the 200-meter medley relay as the team of junior Kierra Watson (Brownsburg, Ind.), senior Sydney Veon (Riverside, Ill./Riverside-Brookfield), sophomore Lauren Halle (Chandler, Ariz./Hamilton), and freshman Abby Leatherwood (Loveland/Milford) won the event in 2:09.37.

Veon would finish first in the 50 free and 100 free in :28.54 and 1:02.63, respectively.

The senior also teamed up with Leatherwood, sophomore Kyley Stuart (Ada) and freshman Marissa Taylor (Granite Falls, N.C./South Caldwell) for her fourth first place finish of the evening, as the team won the 200 free relay in 1:57.80

Halle also posted multiple first place finishes as she won the 50 fly in :31.90 and won the 100 I.M. 1:11.70.

In the 200 free, Taylor claimed first place in 2:16.77, while she also won the 100 fly and 100 breast in 1:13.28 and 1:24.06, respectively.

Watson would finish first in the 50 back :32.63 and also claimed first place in the 100 back in 1:11.10.

Senior Kasey Mucher (Arlington, Tex./Oakridge) claimed the top finish in the 800 meter freestyle in 10:46.60.

In the 50 breast, sophomore Katelyn Koebel (Port Clinton) won the event in :39.06, while freshman Avery Manbeck (Aldie, Va./Champe) won the 400 free in 5:07.16.

"Overall, we swam well and had a fun sprint lineup," said head coach Peggy Ewald. "This was a great first dual meet of the season against one of our favorite programs in the OAC."

The Polar Bears return to action on Saturday morning as they host John Carroll at 1 pm at the ONU Sports Center Natatorium and host their annual "Swim for Cystic Fibrosis" Fundraiser.