It's where Ada gets its news!
Ada Sports
January 22, 2020

You are here

Bulldog netters win Spartan tourney; Spar, Wills finish 1st

Ada on top of seven-team invitational

By Cort Reynolds
MARION - The Ada tennis team won the seven-team Spartan Invitational tournamentat Marion Pleasant Saturday behind two first-place showings.

Bulldogs Isaac Spar and Miranda Wills each went 3-0 to win individual tourney titles at second and third singles, respectively.

Cade Mullins took third in the number one singles flight, posting a 3-1 record.

The first doubles tadem of Morgan Swick and Dexter Woods went 2-1 and finished second. At second doubles, Gabe Hasan and Hunter Wells took third with a 3-1 mark.

Individual Ada results:
2nd Singles: Isaac Spar - 1st Place
Defeated Vishnu Dasaka (Olentangy Berlin) - W 8-6
Def. Isaiah Wiley (Marion Pleasant) - W 8-1
Def. Niladri Aich (Maumee Valley CD) - W 7-6 (7-4), 6-1

3rd Singles: Miranda Wills - 1st Place
Def. Evan Heritage (Maumee Valley CD) - W 8-1
Def. Connor Eblin (Marion Pleasant) - W 8-3
Def. Kathir Maarikarthykeyan (Olentangy Berlin) - W 6-1, 6-1

1st Singles: Cade Mullins - 3rd Place
Def. Brice Heckathorn (Kenton) - W 8-0
Lost to Akhil Damarla (Olentangy Berlin) - L 6-8
Def. Dane Williams (Marion Pleasant) - W 8-2
Def. Stephane Granato (Maumee Valley CD) - W 6-0, 6-0

1st Doubles: Morgan Swick/Dexter Woods - 2nd Place
Def. Joel Helmick/Bradford Koles (Maumee Valley CD) - W 8-4
Def. Patrick McDonald/Zach Abraham (Marion Pleasant) - W 8-2
Lost to Landon Rush/Hayden Robinson (Kenton) - L 3-6, 6-7 (4)

2nd Doubles: Gabe Hasan/Hunter Wells - 3rd Place
Def. Ansh Arora/Tyler Hagerman (Olentangy Berlin) - W 8-6
Lost to Bryce Bayles/Eian Zachmann (Marion Pleasant) - L 3-8
Def. Ollie Saleh/Yusef Daboul (Maumee Valley CD) - W 8-4
Def. Ansh Arora/Tyler Hagerman (Olentangy Berlin) - W 6-4, 6-1

Team Results:
1. Ada 19
2. Olentangy Berlin 14
3. Worthington Christian 9
4. Marion Pleasant 8
5. Maumee Valley Country Day 7
6. Kenton 6
7. Cristo Ray 2

Ada is scheduled to play at Elida Monday, April 15.