It's where Ada gets its news!
August 7, 2020

You are here

Grove wins this year's NWC Bachman award

Ada HS won the NWC academic award title

Columbus Grove won the Northwest Conference 2018-19 “Don Bachman Award of Excellence." 

This is the fourth time Columbus Grove has accomplished this feat since the establishment of the award in 2005.  This award recognizes the school in the conference that exhibits the highest level of consistent excellence in conference-sponsored sports and scholastic bowl competition each school year.

The Bulldogs compiled a total of 87.5 points with Bluffton (80.0) and Crestview (67.5) finishing second and third respectively.  Points are awarded and accumulated each year based on conference standings in all sports and the NWC scholastic bowl competition.

The award was started during the 2005-06 school year to honor longtime Northwest Conference commissioner/secretary, Don Bachman, who served in that position for more than 30 years before passing away late in 2005.

This year Columbus Grove earned four outright NWC titles in Cross Country and Track by sweeping those events for both the boys and girls teams.  In addition the Bulldogs secured co-championships in the sports of Volleyball, Boys’ Basketball and Girls’ Basketball.  The conference sponsors 14 sports in addition to the scholastic bowl tournament.

Other NWC champions/co-champions were:
• Ada (Academic Team),
• Allen East (Wrestling),
• Bluffton (Boys' Soccer, Girls’ Basketball, Softball),
• Crestview (Volleyball, Boys' Basketball),
• Paulding (Baseball),
• Spencerville (Golf, Football, Girls’ Soccer).

The final order of finish for the 2018-19 school year is as follows:

Columbus Grove  87.5
Bluffton                 80.0
Crestview             67.5
Paulding               63.5
Lincolnview           62.5
Spencerville          61.0
Allen East             59.5
Ada                       43.0

Bachman winners 2006-2019
2019 - Grove
2018 - Spencerville
2017 - Bluffton
2016 - Bluffton
2015 - Grove
2014 - Bluffton
2013 - LCC
2012 - LCC
2011 - Grove
2010 - LCC
2009 - LCC
2008 - LCC
2007 - LCC
2006 - Grove