It's where Ada gets its news!
April 3, 2020

You are here

More ONU student award winners

Ohio Northern University recognizes students, organizations with DeBow Freed, Alice-Kay Hilderbrand leadership, community service awards

Several Ohio Northern University students have been recognized for their leadership on campus.

The DeBow Freed Award for Outstanding Student Leadership as an Undergraduate Student is presented annually to one male and one female student from each undergraduate class. The award recognizes recipients for their positive leadership in the campus community.

The first awards were presented in 1999 and are named in honor of the former president and current president emeritus of the university, who has dedicated his life to the virtue of servant leadership.

First-year awards were presented to Cortney Kiser, a criminal justice and psychology major from Urbana, Ohio, and Andrew Mantenieks, a criminal justice and political science major from Westerville, Ohio.

Second-year awards went to William Sierzputowski, an engineering education major from Columbus, Ohio, and Anne Major, an electrical engineering major from Okemos, Mich.

Third-year awards were received by Rand Abdullatef, a biology/pre-med major from Ada, Ohio, and Ian Smith, a psychology major from East Liverpool, Ohio.

Fourth-year awards were presented to Georgia Snelling, an electrical engineering major from Findlay, Ohio, and Dominic Turnea, a marketing and creative writing major from Garfield Heights, Ohio.

Also recognized were the Alice-Kay Hilderbrand Student Organization of the Year awards, which recognize outstanding leadership of student organizations that made positive contributions to the ONU campus community. The Campus Organizing Committee of ONU’s Student Senate created the awards, which have been presented since 2002. The awards are named after Alice-Kay Hilderbrand, vice president for student affairs from 2004-08, for her passionate and devoted support to student organizations.

This year’s recipients include:
·Student Organization of the Year: Open Doors
·Greek Organization of the Year: Phi Mu Delta
·Polar Pride: Tau Beta Sigma
·Outstanding Community Service Award: Northern Nurses Without Borders
·Outstanding Programming Award: National Community Pharmacists Association
·Outstanding Event: Alpha Xi Delta (“Xi Man”)