It's where Ada gets its news!
May 26, 2020

You are here

ONU women’s and men’s golf season underway

Women’s team
The Ohio Northern women's golf program will look to take another step forward in 2019-20. The Polar Bears have their vision fixed on the top of the conference following a fourth-place finish in 2018-19. 

"I feel real confident with the women's team," seventh-year head coach Chad Bucci said. "This is my best recruiting class, and I see the team doing exceptionally well."

The success of Northern will likely stem from junior Lydia Cranmer (Farmington Hills, Mich./Ladywood). She won four of the seven tournaments she teed it up in last season. 

Cranmer boasted a stroke average of 83.1 and her 83.8 average over her three years in Ada is the best in school history. She placed eighth at the Ohio Athletic Conference Championships, which earned her All-OAC distinction for the second consecutive year. She was also named OAC Golfer of the Week twice last season. 

Senior three-year-letter-winner Taylor Daniel (Columbia City, Ind./Columbia City) returns after holding the team's fourth-best stroke average of 93.6 as a junior playing in 15 rounds. Sophomore Emily McLaughlin (Bellefontaine) owned the team's fifth-best stroke average of 94.3 in 13 rounds. 

Senior lettermen Alexis Miller (Wayne/Elmwood) laid claim to a stroke average of 94.8 and sophomore Karolyne Staugler (Saint Henry) carded a 95.6 stroke average. Junior letter-winners Haley Watkins (Bellefontaine) and Angela Miller (Clarskville/Clinton-Massie) stroke averages of 98.1 and 103, respectively, round out the team's top 10 that return from a season ago. 

Other returning lettermen include seniors Brittany Bolton (Copley) and junior Allison Logue (Cincinnati/McAuley). 

The Polar Bears will also welcome in a transfer from Saginaw Valley State. Junior Annika Neumann (Valley City/Avon) will look to factor into the lineup at Northern after posting a stroke average of 82.3 as a sophomore at SVSU.

Eight freshman will join Nuemann as first-year Ohio Northern golfers. 

Northern commences play for the 2019-20 season playing host to the ONU Fall Invitational Aug. 31 and Sept. 1. 

Men’s team
The Ohio Northern men's golf program is hungry for improvement ahead of the 2019-20 season. After a ninth-place finish last season, the Polar Bears are aiming to be more of a player in the Ohio Athletic Conference race this fall and spring. 

"I feel that I had my best recruiting class on the men's side," seventh-year head coach Chad Bucci said. "It's going to be tough to make my top five. That's going to be fun. It's a whole new look for the Polar Bears."

A new-look for Northern will also include some familiar faces, as well. Sophomore letter-winner Nolan Kimberly (Zanesville) spearheads the Polar Bears as he held the team's second-lowest stroke average of 78.5, playing in all 19 competitive rounds. 

Seniors Ryan Tatman (West Chester/Lakota East) and Brant Morton (Findlay/Van Buren) bring with them three-letter-winning seasons apiece. Tatman held a stroke average of 80.7 — fourth-best on the team — in nine competitive rounds last season, while Morton averaged an 88.3 in six rounds.  

Sophomore lettermen Andrew Slusher (Covington) boasted the team's fifth-lowest stroke average of 81.6 in 14 competitive rounds, and fellow classmate Jared Hernandez (Van Wert) played in all 19 rounds as a freshman and logged a stroke average of 81.8. 

Juniors, and two-time letter-winners, Joe Slusher (Covington) and Ethan Smith (Chillicothe/Southeastern) round out last season's returnees who recorded a stroke average inside the team's top 10. Smith had an 86.1 stroke average in 11 rounds, and Slusher held an 87.7 stroke average in 10 rounds. 

Other returning lettermen include sophomores Austin White (Harrisburg, Pa./Susquehanna Township), Sam Straker (Zanesville), Mason Roush (Zanesville/Philo), Brayden Newland (Lima/Allen East), and Ethan Hartman (Harrison).

The Polar Bears also welcome nine freshman into the fray. 

Northern commences play for the 2019-20 season playing host to the ONU Fall Invitational Aug. 31 and Sept. 1.