It's where Ada gets its news!
September 26, 2020

You are here

Busy spring even while students are off campus

Update on ONU faculty and student awards and honors

Several Ohio Northern University faculty and students have received recognition this spring. Here is a summary of awards and new notes.

Students recognized by Ohio Council of Criminal Justice Education
Two students were recognized for excellence from the Ohio Council of Criminal Justice Education in 2020. Senior criminal justice student Katie Klamut earned the OCCJE Undergraduate Research Paper of the Year award for “Connecting Through the Wire: The Relationship Between Class, Race, Gender, and Police Brutality”  Law student Genc Nimoni earned the OCCJE Graduate Research Paper of the Year for “Rule of Law on State-building Societies - Republic of Kosovo.”

Health Center nurse Kim Manning earns to awards
Kim Manning, Health Center nurse, is the recipient of two awards from the American College Health Association. Manning was awarded the 2020 ACHA Ollie B. Moton Award for outstanding service to Ohio Northern. In addition, she earned the Kathy Mac Scholar Travel Award to use to attend the association’s annual meeting.

Robert Alexanders continues to provide leading voice in political circles
Professor of Political Science Robert Alexander continues to be a leading voice in the national political sphere with recent op-ed columns published by CNN and USA Today. With the Supreme Court recently hearing arguments on faithless electors, Alexander wrote “Electoral College’s glitch can’t be easily fixed” for the cable news network. He also analyzed the results of the recent Great Lakes Poll for USA Today.com in “Ohio isn’t off the table. It’s still a battleground, and that’s bad news for Trump.”

Douglas Dowland earns literature and language studies award
An article written by Douglas Dowland, associate professor of English, has received this year’s Texas Studies in Literature and Language Tony Hilfer Prize for Best Essay. Dowland’s essay is an exploration of “The Politics of Resentment in J.D. Vance’s Hillbilly Elegy.” The Hilfer Prize is named for Anthony Channell Hilfer, a long-time editor of the journal and emeritus professor of English at The University of Texas at Austin. The prize is awarded by the journal’s editors annually to the essay with the highest impact in the field of literature and language studies.

John Estell elected to professional organization’s board of directors
John K. Estell, professor of computer engineering and computer science, has been elected to the Board of Directors of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE). He will serve a three-year term beginning this June as the Chair of Professional Interest Council III, which consists of 14 out of a total of 56 ASEE divisions. Estell has been a member of ASEE since 1993 and was elected in 2016 as a fellow in recognition of the breadth, richness, and quality of his contributions to the betterment of engineering education. He has previously held leadership positions within ASEE as chair of both the First-Year Programs and Computers in Education divisions and has received multiple ASEE Annual Conference Best Paper awards. Estell received the ASEE First-Year Programs Division’s Distinguished Service Award in 2019.

ONU creative writing faculty member publishes collection of poems
Jennifer Moore, assistant professor of creative writing, published a chapbook of poems titled Smaller Ghosts. The chapbook is a collection of centos, poems composed entirely of pieces from other source texts, and draws from Shakespeare, Donne, Dara Wier, Claribel Alegria and Afaa Michael Weaver. Smaller Ghosts was selected for the Editor's Series at Seven Kitchens Press.

Team of ONU students, alumni and faculty members has research published
A team of chemistry and biochemistry students, alumni and faculty recently had their research published in the April 2020 issue of Applied Organometallic Chemistry. Bradley Wile, associate professor of chemistry, along with Austin Lanquist, class of 2016; Michael Murray, class of 2018; junior Victoria Ternes, and sophomore Hannah Morgan authored research about a series of new complexes of ruthenium that show activity as catalysts for the selective oxidation of alcohols, which serves as a useful route to important pharmaceutical and commodity chemical species. The research was funded by the Weir Fellowship and a grant from the ACS Petroleum Research Fund.