It's where Ada gets its news!
October 28, 2020

You are here

Ada senior Jacob Morgan named honorable mention all-conference

He paced the Bulldogs with a round of 53-56=109 at Colonial in NWC meet

By Cort Reynolds
ADA - The eight-team Northwest Conference golf championship tournament was held Thursday at Colonial Hills.

Tourney host and league regular season champion Allen East won the event with 323 strokes, with Paulding a distant second at 349.

Lincolnview was third (351), followed by Bluffton (361), Columbus Grove (373) and Delphos Jefferson (383).     

Ada tied for seventh with Crestview at 448 strokes, but won the fifth man playoff tiebreaker to finish one spot ahead of the Knights.

AE's Zack Miller was NWC match medalist with an 18-hole score of 37-36=73. Kenny Lovett of Bluffton finished second with a 40-38=78. Miller was named NWC Player of the Year and topped the all-league first team.

Lovett was the second-leading vote-getter on the All-NWC first team as well. 

Ada senior Jacob Morgan was named honorable mention all-conference. He paced the Bulldogs with a round of 53-56=109 at Colonial.

Junior Andrew Rush carded a 53-58=111 for Ada. Juniors Dexter Woods (56-58) and Kamron Wilkerson (55-59) each posted scores of 114 for the Bulldogs.

Sophomore Geddes Klingler recorded a round of 56-60=116. Freshman Jack Baumgartner registered a 62-67=119 score to complete the Ada effort.

Mustangs Carter Frey and Noah Brown each fired an 81 to support Miller. Cameron Hedrick added a round of 88. Frey was named first team All-NWC while Brown made second team.

Mustangs Elijah Lawrence and Hedrick each earned honorable mention all-conference notice.

AE also won the NWC regular season title at 14-0. Mustang mentor Josh Hollar was voted NWC Coach of the Year.

The Div. III sectionals at Sycamore Springs will be held Thursday, October 1 at 9 a.m. Ada, Allen East and Bluffton will compete in the 12-team event.