Home
It's where Ada gets its news!
April 21, 2021
 

You are here

Ada Gators return to action this summer

Swim team sign-up April 27 and April 30

Following a summer with no swim team, the Ada Gators swim team is back!

A sign-up for youth between the ages of 5 and 18 to be part of this summer’s Ada swim team takes place on Tuesday, April 27, and Friday, April 30, from 6:30 to 8 p.m. in the First United Methodist Church.

The cost for the first swimmer in each family is $60, for the second $55, and for the third family member, $50. Checks may be made out to Ada Summer Swim Team.

The fee includes one program ad per family to be provided in the championship heat sheet.

A representative from Poco Loco will be present on April 27 to check sizes and take orders for swim suits.

The team competes in the Western Ohio Aquatic League (WOAL) with teams from Bluffton, Kenton, Shawnee Country Club, Van Wert, Westside Swim and Racquet Club, Findlay and Wapakoneta.

This summer’s schedule follows:
Monday, June 7 – at Bluffton
Thursday, June 10 – Shawnee
Monday, June 14 – at Wapakoneta
Thursday, June 17 – Findlay
Monday, June 21 – at Westside
Thursday, June 24 – Kenton
Monday, June 28 – at Van Wert
Friday-Saturday, July 8-9 – WOAL championships at Kenton

A pancake breakfast following swim practice take place on Thursday, July 8. An end-of-season banquet is held in the Ada park on Sunday, July 11.

Swimmers must attend a minimum of two meets to qualify to compete in the WOAL championships.

Once the season begins practices are Mondays through Fridays, 8 to 10 a.m. for 11 and older, and 10 to 11 a.m. for swimmers 10 and under.

The team has a Facebook, Ada Summer Swim Team – Gators. To join the remind group text @adaswim to 81010.

Sheila Baumgartner and Christina Bowden are in charge of the sign-up and they may be contacted at 419-966-7740 (for Sheila), or 419-204-9148 (for Christina).

Tags: