It's where Ada gets its news!
October 21, 2020

You are here


Ada council expected to authorize advertising for bids on Tuesday

Concerning municipal building elevator and rehabilitation project

June 2018 and January 2019
estimated shown at bottom of this story -

Ada council will address legislation to authorize the seeking of bids for the Ada municipal building elevator and rehabilitation project at its Tuesday, Jan. 15, meeting.

Don Fleming will serve as Ada council president in 2019

Council committee appointments also decided on Tuesday

Ada council reorganized for 2019 on Tuesday with the exception of the replacement of Beth Fenton by Ken Lauria in early December, many of the committees will remain the same.

Here’s the 2019 committee structure:
• Council president – Don Fleming
• Finance – Don Fleming, Cathy Cole and Bob Simmons
• Street – Terry Keiser, Cathy Cole, Ken Lauria
• Building and grounds – Bob Simmons, Don Fleming, Jeff Oestreich
• Safety – Jeff Oestreich, Terry Keiser, Ken Lauria
• Personnel – Cathy Cole, Don Fleming, Bob Simmons
• Utility – Ken Lauria, Jeff Oestreich, Terry Keiser
• Economic development – Bob Simmons, Terry Keiser

Here's the mayor's 2018 annual report

Report lists projects, services, finances, council 2019 projects and village challenges

West end storm sewer project, Willeke phase 1 and completion of the Ada pool project are three projects David Retterer, Ada mayor, highlighted in his annual report to Ada council on Tuesday.

A copy of his report is attached at the bottom of this story.

Continuing his summary of 2018 projects, he noted that the Ada dispatch is now supplied by the Hardin County Sheriff’s Office.

Adding that the Village of Ada is in sound financial shape, the mayor credited council members and others who monitor revenues, wages and assets and investments of the village.

Ada council 2019 reorganization meeting Tuesday

Committee assignment selection part of agenda

- Council agenda is attached at the bottom of this story -
Ada council will reorganize for 2019 at its Tuesday, Jan. 8, meeting. That means the council will election a president, set meeting dates in addition to naming committee chairs and members.

Those committees include: finance, street, building and grounds, safety, personnel, utility and economic development.

Council will appoint representatives to the ambulance board, planning committee, negotiation committee for the enterprise zone, and the enterprise review committee.

Following its reorganization, council moves into the first official meeting of 2019.

Council to consider bids

There will be a special village council meeting at 6:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 28, at the City Building to review bids for the 2018-2021 solid waste and recycling disposal contract. 

Ada council meets Tuesday

Special meeting's purpose is to authorize advertising for bids

A special Village of Ada Council meeting has been called for Tuesday, July 31, at 6:30 p.m. 

The sole purpose of the meeting is to ask for passage of a resolution authorizing the Village Administrator to advertise for bids for the solid waste contract, an action that must be taken before any advertisement can be placed.