It's where Ada gets its news!
Ada Sports
October 18, 2019

You are here

Ohio Northern University

Nearly 40 years in the making

ONU's Kappa Phi pre-Christmas sing-a-long

Story and photos by Monty Siekerman
Kappa Phi has held a sing-a-thon prior to Christmas for nearly 40 years, and this year the money raised will go to the American Society for Suicide Prevention.

Greek organizations, chapel groups, solos, and duets began singing on Friday evening  in McIntosh Center. The sing-a-thon continued until 3 p.m. on Saturday, except for time out for breakfast. In all, 25 groups participated. 

Emily Fergus of Bellefontaine served as event chair this year. Kappa Phi is a Christian women’s sorority. 

PaintINN offers an option

The Inn will offer a two-night option for their monthly PaintINN in December. Paint a polar bear or porch sitter. Either is available on Dec. 10 and 11. The PaintINN will begin at 6 p.m. and includes art supplies, instruction, food, and beverage. Cost is $38 plus tax and gratuity. Call 419-772-2500 to reserve a place.

Brass quintet performs tonight


The 339th Army Band’s “Missouri Brass” quintet will perform at 7 p.m. tonight (Nov. 28) in Presser Hall. The concert is free and open to the public. 

The Missouri Brass will perform works by Viktor Ewald, Kevin McKee, Anthony DeLorenzo, and others.

The quintet has been performing a series of concerts in Ohio, Illinois, and Indiana in October and November.

Student art and design exhibition opens

Runs to Dec. 7 in Elzay Gallery at ONU

Ohio Northern University presents student art and design exhibition

The Ohio Northern University Department of Art and Design will hold its Student Showcase Exhibition in the Elzay Gallery of Art from Nov. 26 — Dec. 7. A reception and awards presentation will be held Thurs., Dec. 6 from 4–6 p.m.

The exhibition features work created over the past several months by undergraduate students at all levels, most of whom are focusing on a degree in the visual arts and others majoring in a range of other disciplines who are exploring the arts through a minor.

ONU student art on display

The Ohio Northern art and design student showcase exhibition will be on view Monday, Nov. 26–Friday, Dec. 7 in the Elzay Gallery of Art.

Percussion and steel drum concert