It's where Ada gets its news!
July 2, 2020

You are here

School Board

Special school board meeting Thursday

Supplemental contracts for 2020-21 memorandum with AEA on the agenda

The Ada Exempted Village School Board of Education will hold a special meeting at 6 p.m., Thursday, July 2, in the board room.

The purpose is to act on several items including:

• Memorandum of Understanding with the Ada Education Association regarding supplemental contracts for the 2020-2021 school year

• Approve supplemental contracts for the 2020-2021 school year

• Approve a contract for athletic training coverage 

• Approve resignation of a certified employee due to retirement

• Budget modifications  

School board preparing for 2020-21 school year

Vocational agriculture teacher moved one part-time

The follow report includes some action from the school’s June 18 board meeting and is not officially approved board minutes.

Ada school board, meeting June 18, passed several actions affecting the 2020-21 school year, and those follow: 

• Resolution regarding reduction of force for Tony Dyer, to half vocational agriculture teacher.

• Amended contract to assistant building and grounds, maintenance and transportation supervisor, changing start date to first day of school. 

• Recognized 21 sports, 13 certified substitutes and 19 classified substitutes (lists are at the bottom of this story).

Ada school board meets May 21

Ada school board will meet at 6 p.m., Thursday, May 21, in the board meeting room. This is the regular May meeting.

ONU esport team spring season ends with loss to Cleveland State

The Ohio Northern League of Legends esports team had its 2020 spring season come to an end on Wednesday night with a 2-1 loss to Cleveland State in the semifinals of the Ohio section of the National Collegiate esports tournament.

The Polar Bears won the first game in convincing fashion, but fell to the Vikings in tight second and third games and end their NEC season with a 3-5 record.

Ohio Northern, coached by Troy Chiefari, continued play in the NEC Overwatch tournament Wednesday night with a semifinal game against Ohio State.


Ada school board meets via Zoom on April 23

Several ways for residents to participate in the meeting

The Ada Exempted Village school board will meet at 6 p.m., Thursday, April 23, conducting business online via Zoom.

Persons interested in also Zooming into the meeting may email Meri Skilliter, superintendent, at skilliterm@adabulldogs.org for a password.

You do not have to have a Zoom account or download the app. You can access the meeting by clicking this link:

Meeting ID: 939 4580 8392

Ada school board meets April 16

The Ada school board will meet at 6 p.m., Thursday, April 16, in the board meeting room for its regularly scheduled meeting.