It's where Ada gets its news!
July 16, 2020

You are here

Ada's latest news

Ada Community Improvement Corp. gearing up for busy 2013

Ada’s Community Improvement Corporation (CIC) is busy this winter. The group met in the Ada depot on Feb. 20 and reviewed several village projects on the 2013 calendar.

Prior to February’s meeting, the CIC in January elected trustees and officers. The 2013 officers elected are Jim Meyer, president; Bryan Marshall, vice president; Angela Polachek, secretary; and Crystal Huffer, treasurer. These are the same officers as in 2012.

Trustees elected for the term Jan. 1, 2013 to Dec. 31, 2014:
• Beth Fenton
• Richard Lawrence
• Norman Rex
• Angela Polachek
• Donald Traxler
• Harry “Jimmy” Wilson

Ada area residents share experiences of Obama inaugural

Shelli Jackson, Spencer Williams and Don Traxler shared their experiences when they attended the Inaugural Ceremonies of President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden in Washington, D. C. on Jan. 21, with those attending the February meeting of the Hardin County Democrats Central and Executive Committee meeting at the Kenton Moose Lodge .

Shelli (Liberty Township) was among the 56,000-plus people who applied on-line to become a volunteer for the Presidential Inaugural Committee.  She was one of the 1,500 volunteers who was selected. 

Like chili soup? Then you'll love Richland Manor's Feb. 21 cookoff

Like chili soup? Then, you'll love Richland Manor's Thursday, Feb. 21, chili cookoff. The event, hosted by Richland Manor, 7400 Swaney Road, Bluffton, startts at 6:30 p.m.

According to Sarah Foster, administrator, admission is free and there is a voluntary donation to assist the Cairo Food Bank.

A board of judges will choose the winning chili recipie and will award three top prizes:

First place - $100 Visa gift card
Second place - $75 Visa gift card
Third place - $50 Visa gift card

Kiwanis Club proceeding with satellite club

Myrna McCurdy called the 18th meeting (February19th) of the 2012–2013 Kiwanis Year to order at 12:00 noon at McIntosh Center, ONU.

The invocation was offered by Jon Umphress.

ONU pharmacy student receives APhA scholarship

Victoria Pennington, a fourth-year pharmacy student from Groveport, Ohio, was awarded the Gloria Francke Scholarship as part of the 2013 American Pharmacists Association Foundation Student Scholarship Program.

The student scholarships are awarded to recognize exceptional demonstration of leadership skills and academics through active involvement in the APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP).

The recipients will be recognized on March 3 at the APhA Foundation Contributor’s Breakfast and at the APhA Foundation Student Scholarship reunion during the 2013 APhA annual meeting and exposition in Los Angeles.

Men's basketball bows out of OAC Tournament with second round loss at Wilmington

By Tim Glon

Ohio Northern saw its season come to an end in the Second Round of the Ohio Athletic Conference Men's Basketball Tournament with a 92-61 loss at Wilmington Tuesday night at Raizk Arena.

The Polar Bears end their season with a 13-14 record, while the Quakers advance to the Third Round with a 14-12 record.

WC will now travel to second-seeded Marietta for a Third Round contest Thursday night at 7:30 pm at Ban Johnson Fieldhouse.

Junior Jared Horstman scored 15 points, junior Branden Ruston added 13 points and senior Taylor Kuhlman scored 1-0 points in his final collegiate game to lead Ohio Northern.