You are here

Ada HS FFA banquet honors award winners; new officers installed

By Chapter Reporter Michaela Guyton
The annual Ada FFA banquet was held in late March in the cafeteria at Ada High School. Vice President Caleb Garmon welcomed the guest to start the evening, this was followed by Chaplain Hope Hazelton giving the invocation before the guests and members ate dinner, catered by Sweet Caroline’s.          

During our meal, Michaela Guyton presented our annual slide show. The slide show was a presentation of FFA activities and members through out the year. The slide show was the highlight of the evening, it gave parents, as well as community members to see what the FFA really does through out the year.
Each year our chapter recognizes those who have helped the chapter in a special way. This year Lisa Ferguson received the honorary chapter degree.

All of the contest teams were also recognized for their achievements. Members of the Parliamentary Procedure teams, Public Speaking and Soil Judging contestants were also recognized. The winners are as followed:
• Beef Production - Hope Hazelton
• Small Animal Production – Michaela Guyton
• Horticulture and Swine Production - Tori Sexton
• Ag Services - Alex Nichelson
• Grain Production - Jared Clum
• Sheep and Landscape Mgt- Caleb Garmon
• Oil Crop - Andy Rayl and Grant McBride
• Poultry - Josh Lehsten
• Fruit Sales - Ashley Sumner
Leadership and scholarship pins were also handed out to those who qualified.
FFA Advisor Tony Dyer presented the top chapter awards.
• The 110% award was given to Shelby Conner.
• Shelby Hazelton received the Outstanding Freshmen award,
• Outstanding Sophomore was Hope Hazelton,
• Tori Sexton was named Outstanding Junior, and
• Katelyn Simon received Outstanding Senior and Dekalb Awards. 
• Blake Willeke earned the Star Green Hand award, and
•  Caleb Garmon received the Star Chapter Farmer award.
The 2013-2014 officers were installed. This included
• President Caleb Garmon,
• Vice President Josh Lehsten,
• Secretary Shelby Conner,
• Reporter Michaela Guyton,
• Sentinel Cort Everhart,
• Student Advisor Hope Hazelton,
• Chaplain Justin England, and the
• Treasurer Tori Sexton.
After the ceremony, the new officers handed out door prizes, thanks to all our local businesses for the donations.


Ada FFA Proficiency Award Winners (l-r) Andy Rayl, Michaela Guyton,Hope Hazelton,Caleb Garmon, Jared Clum, Justin England , and Alex Nichelson.

New Ada FFA Officers- Vice Pres- Josh Lehsten, Sec-Shelby Conner, Pres-Caleb Garmon, Reporter-Michaela Guyton, Sentinel-Cort Everhart, Chaplain-Justin England, and Student Advisor-Hope Hazelton.