You are here

5 candidates seek 4 openings on Ada council

Nov. 2 general election update

Five candidates have filed for four open spots on the Ada village council in the Nov. 2 general election, according to the Hardin County board of elections.

Robert Simmons, Republican, and Sean Beck, Democrat, filed prior to the Feb. 3, party filing date.

Jeff Oestreich, Noah Ristau and Jason Campbell have filed prior to the May 3, independent filing date, to fill out the ballot.

One additional opportunity to be on the ballot is to file as a write-in candidate. The deadline for write-in candidates to be recognized by the board of elections is Aug. 23. However, write-in candidates’ names will not be on the ballot.

Simmons, Oestreich and Ristau are current council members while Beck and Campbell are running for the first time.

Terry D. Keiser, currently on council, did not file a petition to be on the November ballot.

Two council members not on this year’s ballot are Sheila Coressel and Linda Mason. Ada mayor, David Retterer, is also not on the November ballot.

School board and Township trustees
Aug. 4 is the filing deadline for candidates for Ada school board and Liberty Township trustees.

Ada school board seats on the ballot are currently held by:
Ernest Daugherty
Ron Fleming
School board members not on the ballot:
Troy Erickson
Matthew Gossman
Amy Mullins

Liberty Township trustees seats on the ballot are currently held by:
Gary Hall
Bradley Hays
Neither trustee, Jeffrey Acheson, nor fiscal officer, Patricia Griffin, are on the ballot.