It's where Ada gets its news!
Ada Sports
January 22, 2020

You are here

12 ONU athletes named to National Football Foundation Hampshire society

An impressive 12 Ohio Northern senior student/athletes were named to the National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society for 2019.

The Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers. An all-time high of 1,661 players from a record 426 schools qualified for membership in the society's 13th year.

Seniors Ledondrick Chapman (Bedford), Jameson Curry (Zanesville/Maysville), Sean Devany (Cuyahoga Falls/St. Vincent-St. Mary), Ethan Edwards (Urbana), Brenden Hadley (Bradenton, Fla./Lakewood Ranch), Austin Jensen (Mason), Luke Perkins (Lima/Allen East), Joe Rinicella (Solon), Kyle Rowe(London/Southeastern), Sam Shook (New Philadelphia), Chase Watson (Lima/Elida) and Kurt Wollenhaupt(Delphos/Jefferson) all received the honor.

Ohio Northern's 12 honorees were the eighth-most among the more than 700 schools (all divisions) that play football.

Saint John's (Minn.) led all schools with 20 honorees, followed by Harvard (16), Johns Hopkins (Md.) (15), Nebraska Wesleyan (15), Brown (13), Amherst (Mass.) (13) and Central (Iowa) (13).

Other schools that tied Ohio Northern with 12 student/athletes are MIT, Pomona-Pitzer (Calif.), Washington (Mo.), Drake, Western New England (Mass.) and Springfield (Mass.)

Ohio Northern posted an upper division finish in the Ohio Athletic Conference for an impressive 22nd time in the past 24 seasons in 2018 under 15th-year head coach Dean Paul.

The Polar Bears were 5-5 overall and finishing tied for fifth in the 10-team OAC with a 4-5 league record.