It's where Ada gets its news!
July 9, 2020

You are here

Ada netters lauded at tennis banquet

Isaac Spar named MVP

By Cort Reynolds
ADA - The Ada tennis team held its spring post-season awards banquet at the school cafeteria Thursday, May 30.

Several special awards were handed out by first-year head coach Cody Hurley, who led the team to a 14-5 record this spring.

Two players received the Silver Racket Award, given to players who earned at least a 3.75 grade point average and a second or third letter.

Juniors Hunter Wells and Isaac Spar earned this honor.

Senior Cade Mullins, class of 2019 co-valedictorian, was given the Gold Racket Award for earning a fourth letter and a 4.0 GPA. He also served as the team captain.

The players voted Spar the "Bulldog Pride" award winner, as well as the coveted team MVP honor. Kendal Guagenti was voted the Most Improved player by her teammates. Sophomore Miranda Wills was voted the Sportsmanship award.

Coach's awards as determined by Hurley were as follows: Impact Players of the Year, freshman Dexter Woods and senior Morgan Swick; Bulldog Legacy award winner, Mullins; and the Coach's Award of Excellence winner, Wills.

Special junior varsity awards were given to juniors Logan Crawford, Sam Crawford and Guagenti, as well as senior Theo Hadley, who was injured most of the season.

Others recognized as letter winners were junior Reece Evans (first), seniors Gabe Hasan and Mullins (fourth), Swick (first), Spar (third), Wells (second), Wills (second) and Woods (first).

Tyler Smith, a Div. I tennis player at Duquesne and a close friend of Hurley, was the after-dinner guest speaker.

The evening closed with a six-minute video compilation of season highlights.