It's where Ada gets its news!
November 25, 2020

You are here

Historical Ada

1991 Odyssey of the Mind team

In 1991 four Ada school teams competed in Odyssey of the Mind, a creative problem-solving competition.

Here is the Division One (grades K-5) team, which solved a problem called Transformation. Team members from left, with their winning medals are Liza McVicker, Andrea Szuch, Jessica Avellone, Aniko Ludanyl, Erin Downing, Amanda Reiss and Molly McCurdy.

The coach was Janet Avellone. The team won medals for creativity. (From the collection of Leland Crouse)

1991 Ada boys of summer

Here's the Ada HS baseball team of 1991.

Front from left, Tim Allen*, Wade Evans, Troy Erickson*, Brian Gossard*, Craig Ward*, Matt East, James VanAtta, Sean Downing.

Standing from left, Coach Neal Dumbaugh, Mike Hatton*, Hans Strayer*, Marshall Traster, Jeff Lee*, Randy Preston, Bob Brush*, Mike Weller, Mike Conley, Assistant Coach Dave Allen.

*Letter winners.

(From collection of Leland Crouse)

1996-97 VFW-sponsored softball team

In 1996-1997 Ada VFW Post 9381 sponsored a girls' softball team.

Coaching the team was Keith Miller (red hat) and Randy Fetter (white visor).

Back row, Kate Fletcher, Heather Stratton, Erin Sizemore, Chassidy Boutwell, Jenny Sharock.

Middle row, Kelly Vermillion, Elicia Klopfenstein, Lindsey Conley, Ashley East, Beth Stewart, Courtney East.

Front row, Alicia Fetter, Casey Christopher, Kelly Brant, Kristin Zsembik. (From the collection of Leland Crouse)


Junior choir, Ada First Baptist Church, 1990

Here are members of the Ada First Baptist Church junior choir in 1990.

Singers, front from left, Nick Simon, Sara Ackerman, Kristin Zsembik and Kristin Clark.

Second row from left, Jessica Cheney, Krissy Neuenschwander, Casey Christopher, Chassidy Boutwell and Sara Westbrook.

Back row from left, Haley Accero, Carol Fletcher, Jacob Ritchey, Garrett Birchfield and Ronnie Telles. (From the collection of Leland Crouse)

Here's Ada HS's 1990 swim team

Ada High School swim team was three years old in 1990. That fall was the first year that enough team members participated to actually call it a team.

With Coach Rock Snow having six girls on the roster in 1990, he said, “This is really our first year as a team, even though we were recognized the last two years."

Leading the way were senior letterwinner and captain Tanya Nelson, the only member of Ada’s first team two years ago where she finished 23rd at state. Amber Thede and Hannah Robey-Zachariah joined the team the previous year.

1990 Ada HS flag corp

The Ada High School flag corp won first place at the Allen County Fair in the baton/flag corp competition in August 1990.

Members, front from let, Dawn Brite, Jen Tarr, captain, Natalie Curtis, captain, and Bonnie Benson.

Standing from left Sarah Prueter, Marla Lammers, Leigh Simon, Jennifer Wilkerson, Stephanie Sumner, Brittney Strayer, Julie Shadley and Patti Cogar. Michelle Smith is the advisor.

From the collection of Leland Crouse.