You are here


Ada HS Winterguard team wins state title


Ada High School has an official state champion. The AHS Winterguard team competed in the Ohio Indoor Performance Association (OIPA) state final in Wapakoneta and returned home with a state title. 

The team had recently been promoted to the more difficult Scholastic A division and was performing for the first time at this level in a state championship. The team defeated three-time state champions Middletown High School to take the state championship by 0.08 points. The AHS team was also recognized for their state championship Scholastic Regional A accomplishment last year. 

Three new members join Ada Kiwanis Club

President Myrna McCurdy called the Wednesday March 26th special meeting of the Ada Kiwanis Club to order at 6:00 at the Community Health Professional building S.R. 235, Ada.

The invocation was offered by Jon Umphress.

The following were welcomed as guests: Anne Schulman, Joanne Berg, Arlene Allison, Linda Ferguson, Kelly MacDonald and Daniel MacDonald.
A potluck dinner was enjoyed ball all those in attendance.

In brief business:
-Members were updated on Pancake Day finances by Bryan Marshall, Treasurer.

ONU professors author personalized medicine textbook

Three members of the Ohio Northern University Raabe College of Pharmacy, along with a member of the Purdue University faculty, have collaborated to author a textbook titled “Pharmacogenetics, Kinetics, and Dynamics for Personalized Medicine.”

Ohio Northern’s David F. Kisor, professor of pharmacokinetics, Jon E. Sprague, dean and professor of pharmacology, Jeffrey N. Talbot, associate professor of pharmacology, and Michael D. Kane, associate professor of bioinformatics and genomics at Purdue, contributed to the textbook, which will be used by pharmacy students and pharmacists.

Kiwanis gets EMS update from Tom Miller

President Myrna McCurdy called the Tuesday March 26th meeting of the Ada Kiwanis Club to order at noon at McIntosh Center, Ohio Northern University, Ada.

The invocation was offered by Jon Umphress.

Tom Miller of the Ada EMT squad was welcomed as a guest.

The membership anniversary of member Bill Fuller (March 26, 2009) was noted.

Members agreed that the 61st annual Pancake and Sausage Day was very successful.

Look who's on the Ada honor roll

The following students made the Ada Schools 3rd Qtr. Honor Roll for the 2012/2013 school year
All "A" Honor Roll
Bailey Bowers, Josie Corwin, Erica Kier, Levi Klingler, Zoe Laird, Madeleine Lomax Vogt, Jake Maher, Jonathen Robey, Morgan Rouch, Michael Savino, McKenzie Shaw, Nichole Van Atta Reynolds, Taylor Willeke, Suzanne Young.

11th GRADE:
Austin Dumbaugh, Jessica Hill, Cory Kellum, Joshua Lehsten,  Annabel Pinkney, Elijah Rayl, Alexis Rhodes, Matthew Wilcox.

Alexis Amburgey, Noah Beach, Allison Howard, Nolan Roberts, Caralee Stover, Victoria Wyss.

Easter egg hunt...with all the frills upon it

The Easter Bunny stopped in the Ada park on Sunday. The Ohio Northern University Kappa Alpha Theta, zeta sigma chapter, sponsored the visit.

Here's some views of the event. (Reema Bazzy photos)