You are here


Ada HS FFA banquet honors award winners; new officers installed

By Chapter Reporter Michaela Guyton
The annual Ada FFA banquet was held in late March in the cafeteria at Ada High School. Vice President Caleb Garmon welcomed the guest to start the evening, this was followed by Chaplain Hope Hazelton giving the invocation before the guests and members ate dinner, catered by Sweet Caroline’s.          

...make that two state champions - Junior High also takes the top trophy

Ada Junior High School Winterguard continued their undefeated season taking home the Ohio Indoor Performance Association (OIPA) state championship in Wapakoneta on Saturday, April 6. This is the first year for Ada Schools to have a junior high school team. 

The team also set the state record for the highest score of anytime to take the trophy in the OIPA Championships. 

The Junior High team was also awarded the Judges’ Most Spirited Team award as well. The Junior High team consists of Hailey Maier, Melina Woods, Caitlyn Stover, Maddie Preston, Lindsay Crouse, Callee Young, Ace Gamble, Allyson Fuqua, and Josie Boehm. 

Ada HS Winterguard team wins state title


Ada High School has an official state champion. The AHS Winterguard team competed in the Ohio Indoor Performance Association (OIPA) state final in Wapakoneta and returned home with a state title. 

The team had recently been promoted to the more difficult Scholastic A division and was performing for the first time at this level in a state championship. The team defeated three-time state champions Middletown High School to take the state championship by 0.08 points. The AHS team was also recognized for their state championship Scholastic Regional A accomplishment last year. 

Three new members join Ada Kiwanis Club

President Myrna McCurdy called the Wednesday March 26th special meeting of the Ada Kiwanis Club to order at 6:00 at the Community Health Professional building S.R. 235, Ada.

The invocation was offered by Jon Umphress.

The following were welcomed as guests: Anne Schulman, Joanne Berg, Arlene Allison, Linda Ferguson, Kelly MacDonald and Daniel MacDonald.
A potluck dinner was enjoyed ball all those in attendance.

In brief business:
-Members were updated on Pancake Day finances by Bryan Marshall, Treasurer.

ONU professors author personalized medicine textbook

Three members of the Ohio Northern University Raabe College of Pharmacy, along with a member of the Purdue University faculty, have collaborated to author a textbook titled “Pharmacogenetics, Kinetics, and Dynamics for Personalized Medicine.”

Ohio Northern’s David F. Kisor, professor of pharmacokinetics, Jon E. Sprague, dean and professor of pharmacology, Jeffrey N. Talbot, associate professor of pharmacology, and Michael D. Kane, associate professor of bioinformatics and genomics at Purdue, contributed to the textbook, which will be used by pharmacy students and pharmacists.

Kiwanis gets EMS update from Tom Miller

President Myrna McCurdy called the Tuesday March 26th meeting of the Ada Kiwanis Club to order at noon at McIntosh Center, Ohio Northern University, Ada.

The invocation was offered by Jon Umphress.

Tom Miller of the Ada EMT squad was welcomed as a guest.

The membership anniversary of member Bill Fuller (March 26, 2009) was noted.

Members agreed that the 61st annual Pancake and Sausage Day was very successful.