It's where Ada gets its news!
October 25, 2020

You are here


Volleyball: Balanced attack lifts ONU over Wooster

By Tim Glon

Ten different players registered kills as the Ohio Northern volleyball team swept Wooster 25-9, 25-15, 26-24 Wednesday night at the ONU Sports Center.

The Polar Bears improve to 12-7 overall, while the Scots fall to 5-16.

The match was the final non-conference contest of the regular season for ONU.

Sophomore Ellie Gillespie  and Anna Ricker  and freshman Kelli Weininger  each had six kills to lead a balanced ONU offensive attack.

In all, 14 different Polar Bears saw action and 10 had kills and seven had four kills or more.

Here's the update on ONU athletic teams

Last Week at Ohio Northern:

Men's soccer: Kinkopf scores twice to lead ONU past Mount Union in OAC opener

By Andrew Korba

Freshman Matt Kinkopf  scored twice to lead the No. 14 Ohio Northern men's soccer to team to a 3-0 win over Mount Union in its OAC opener on Saturday afternoon at Mount Union Stadium.

The Polar Bears are now 9-2-0 and 1-0-0 in the OAC, while the Purple Raiders fall to 5-6-0, 0-1-0.

Kinkopf now has a team best seven goals on the season.

Senior Stephen Perkins  got ONU on the board just 11 minutes in, when he headed in a cross from sophomore Chase Mueller .

At the 19:22 mark, Kinkopf made it 2-0 in favor of the Polar Bears when scored off of a pass from sophomore Shintaroh Itoh .

Bulldog special teams shine in a rainy homecoming game

By Dusty Donley

Stormy weather and wet field conditions did nothing to slow the Bulldog offense last Friday as they jumped ahead early and cruised to a 30-6 Northwest Conference victory over the visiting Paulding Panthers on Homecoming night. The win lifts Ada's record to 5-1 overall and 4-0 in the conference, keeping them tied with Delphos Jefferson for first place in the league.

ONU sophomore named to D3football.com Team of the Week

By Tim Glon

Ohio Northern sophomore Devon Price  was named to the D3football.com Team of the Week for his efforts in ONU's 38-24 victory at Capital on Saturday.

Price blocked a punt for a touchdown, caught an 80-yard TD pass and had 107 all-purpose yards for the Polar Bears (2-1 overall, 1-1 Ohio Athletic Conference).

This season, Price has caught 13 passes for 127 yards and a score, has rushed once for nine yards, has returned seven kickoffs for 194 yards and leads the team with 330 all-purpose yards in three games.

Ada is alive and well in Dayton: Beaschler starts; but Flyers lose

By Donald Traxler

Christopher Beaschler (2012 Ada High School graduate) suffered a deep bruise on his right calf muscle during practice on Thursday, was walking on crutches on Friday and started his first game at linebacker on Saturday for the University of Dayton Flyers. 


The Flyers were in control and had a 13-0 lead in the first quarter. However, the Marist University Red Foxes scored the next 31 points and won the Pioneer Football League contest 31-20.