You are here


Ada Schools honor roll for 4th quarter of 2022-2023

The Ada Exempted Village Schools announced the following 4th Quarter Honor Roll for 2022-2023:

Grade 4

All A:  Elizabeth Archer, Rianna Bhandari, Addison Cole, Charlie Crawford, Lena Daniels, Joseph Gargac, Gage Gibson, Malia Gibson, Ella Howard, Xander Lawrence, Gary Lightner, Landon Long, Levi Luellen, Callum Mcalpine, Bentley Mckee, Madeline Morford, Ada Porter, Claire Porter, Isaac Roniger, Benjamin Rush, Beckett Sleesman, Camryn Smith, Laylyn Staley And Isabella Wagner

A-B:  Weston Acheson, Quincy Behrends, Jordan Boedicker, Raven Burk, Tayvion Collier, Tinley Conrad, Khloe Craft, Colton Crawford, Mollie Dewese, Ava Dickey, Chloe Fisher, Kolson Gibson, Bella Harris, Caitlyn House, Emma Jenkins, Easton Lucas, Brooklynn Lyle, Agoziem Onyekelu, Koen Prater, Lucy Reser, Lyncoln Shaffer, Teegan Smith, Olivia Stuber, Aleks Thompson, Demi Thompson, Livvy Vieira, Tina White and Zyia Young 

Grade 5

All A:  Cash Alger, Naomi Carl, Waylon Clemons, Scarlett Craig, Derek Dennis, Blaine Fensler, Ethan Hollar, Lance Jones, Emersyn Lee, Aubrey Luellen, Lincoln Maris, Grant Smith, Josie Stoll, Maeve Ulrey and Charity Williams


Class of 2023 + 1 graduate from Ada High School

The Ada High School Band set the tone for commencement ceremonies for the Class of 2023, opening the event with the familiar notes of Fanfare and Processional by Edward Elgar and the Star Spangled Banner.

Gage Hoffer, the President of the Class of 2023, welcomed guests to the event and led a silent moment of reflection. He also quoted former U.S. President George W. Bush, "To those of you who are graduating this afternoon with high honors, awards and distinctions, I say, 'Well done.' And as I like to tell the C students: You too, can be president."

Ada Lions Club awards $5750 in scholarships to Ada Schools seniors

The Ada Lions Club met on May 24, 2023 to honor new scholarship recipients. Lions Scholarship Chair Robert C Simmons introduced the students. 

The scholarship winners introduced their family members in attendance, shared some of their high school activities, where they were going to further their education, career goals and college major. The Lions Club provided a meal for scholarship recipients and their families.

Rhodes State College spring 2023 graduates

The following graduates from the Ada Icon and Bluffton Icon readership areas received their Associate degrees from Rhodes State College following spring semester 2023.


  • Micah William Cook, Electronic Engineering Tech
  • Trent Michael Ennis, Manufacturing Engineering Tech
  • William Heath Jolliff Jr, Mechanical Engineering Tech
  • Erik JC Radebaugh, with Honors, Electronic Engineering Tech
  • David John James Shelby Gale Sullivan, with Honors, Digital Media
  • Schyler Mackenzie Waugh, Nursing
  • Zoe Kezia Serwaa Yeboah, Nursing
  • Natalie Anne Freytag, with Honors, Associate of Technical Studies


2023 Ada High School Honor Awards summary

CORRECTION: Information for Valedictorian Isaiah Broge was not included in the original version of the article. Updated May 21.

At the Senior Honor Awards ceremony on Monday, May 15, it was announced that Amelia Alexander, Kaitlyn Bowden, Isaiah Broge, Lily Diehl, Meghan Erickson, Dale Hoyt, Brendan Jameson, Courtney Sumner, Robert Waters and Sabina Zheng have been named Valedictorians of the Ada High School Class of 2023.

Scholarships and awards for the Valedictorians and for 15 other students recognized at the Senior Honors awards are listed below, as well as Departmental Awards and Scholastic Awards for Seniors.

Commencement ceremonies for the Class of 2023 on Sunday, May 28, at 2:00 pm. in the high school gymnasium. 

Amelia Alexander, daughter of Robert and Shelleigh Alexander 
Plans to attend Bowling Green State University to major in Political Science
High school activities have included: volleyball, cross country, tennis, National Honor Society, Secret Admirers Club, Ada Mental Health Alliance, Interclass, film club, book club,  junior class officer, Buckeye Girls State, Harvest and Herb Queen, and DOGS volunteer


May 2023 report for Soroptimist International of Kenton Hardin County

Kenton Soroptimist President Karen Kier opened the May 2023 meeting and welcomed guests Sheree Ford, Soroptimist Midwestern Region Governor Christine Shearer, Pat Smith and Maria Santo. Members recited the Pledge of Allegiance and Soroptimist Grace before enjoying a lovely meal prepared by the Elks staff.