You are here


Ten AHS art students featured in 2023 Kewpee Invitational

Ten Ada High School students had 18 pieces of artwork on display in the 2023 Kewpee High School Invitational Exhibit at Artspace/Lima. Additional photos are posted HERE on the Ada Bulldogs Facebook page.

 Ada students receiving awards for their work are:

  • Brendan Jameson - 2nd Place in Ceramics for “Drippy Vase”
  • Kya Tabler - 2nd Place in Mixed Media for “Modern Angel”

Baby quilt donation by local Soroptimist International

Soroptimist International of Kenton/Hardin County donated hand made baby quilts to Safe Haven of Hardin County.

Accepting the donation are Deb Oestreich and Bev Bahr. Project Care and Comfort Chair Annetta Holmes and Club President Karen Kier made the presentation at the March 2 meeting of the club. PHOTO

University Club II Scholarship winners for 2023

Rebecca Bash (Mt. Vernon Nazarene/Ridgemont H.S.) and Chase Fleece (Bowling Green State University/Kenton H.S.) are 2023 scholarship recipients

Rebecca Bash has been awarded the top scholarship for 2023 from the University Club II of  Hardin County. Rebecca is a 2020 graduate of Ridgemont High School and is attending Mount Vernon Nazarene University.  She is the daughter of  Jon and Karen Bash of Mt. Victory and will graduate with a degree in Middle Childhood Education in May of 2024.

Governor's appointments include two from Allen County

COLUMBUS—Ohio Governor Mike DeWine has made appointments including:

Keith A. Cheney of Lima has been appointed to the Ohio Casino Control Commission for a term beginning February 24, 2023, and ending February 21, 2027.

Kathryn N. Farmer of Bluffton has been reappointed to the Ohio AMBER Alert Committee for a term beginning February 24, 2023, and ending February 6, 2025.

Hardin 4-H announces 2023 Achievement Award winners

Melia Santillanez of Ada recognized in goats and horses achievement

Nine Hardin County 4-H members are being recognized as County Achievement Award Winners for 2023.  Achievement Awards are given to the top 4-H member in a project area based on the Ohio Achievement Record submissions.  All 11 award winning applications will be sent to judging at the state level to be considered for an Ohio Achievement Award, given to the top member in the entire state for a project area.

Class of 2023 announced by Hardin County Sports Hall of Fame

Lee Sage, AHS Class of 1967 included in group of seven inductees

The Hardin County Sports Hall of Fame has released names in the 2023 Sports Hall of Fame class of inductees. Honorees in chronological order are:

Kenton High School Class of 1958. First Kenton girls varsity tennis coach when tennis became a sanctioned OHSAA sport in 1977. Mrs. Moore led the Lady Wildcats netters to three straight Western Buckeye League Championships from its inception from 1977-1979 and shared a fourth League crown one year later (1980). During her tenure as a coach, she also was Head Boys Tennis Coach for three seasons from 1985-1987. She had numerous individual/doubles champions crowned both in league and OHSAA tournament play. Mrs. Moore retired from Kenton City Schools as an educator/coach in May 1992. Sharon passed away in August 2020. 

McGuffey High School Class of 1965. A three sport athlete in Basketball, Baseball and Track. Two time Hardin County Cross-Country Champion in 1962 and 1963 and runner-up in 1964. Sprinter in Track and Field. Considered by many to be the premier “3 sports star” of Hardin County. Excelled on the hardwood as well as on the grass field as a baseball player; with dynamic hitting, running and his glove defensively. 

Ada High School Class of 1967. A three sport star playing football, basketball and baseball for the Bulldogs. The diamond is where Lee shined brightest. During his senior season, threw a complete game no hitter versus rival Upper Scioto Valley in a 1-0 victory while striking out 16 batters. During the 1967 season, he surrendered only 4 earned runs in 62 innings pitched. Lee helped guide the Ada Bulldogs baseball team to a conference championship in 1967. Batted .483 while he and his teammates won League, Sectional, District Championships before losing in Regionals 4-3. NWC Player of the Year. Played collegiately at BGSU prior to being drafted in the 34th round by the Detroit Tigers organization. Played four years in the minors finishing with a 4-4 record and a 4.28 ERA with Erie and Batavia. 1000 pt scorer in basketball for Ada.