You are here


Look who's on the final honor roll

Ada Schools presents the fourth quarter Honor Roll for the 2011-2012 school year.

GRADE 12: Christopher Beaschler, Mackenzie Fell, Matthew Gray.

GRADE 11: Bailey Bowers, Jaden Castle, Erica Kier, Kylie Kipker, Levi Klingler, Zoe Laird, Madeleine Lomax Vogt, Natalie Reynolds, Jonathen Robey, Morgan Rouch, David Savino, McKenzie Shaw, Taylor Willeke, Suzanne Young.

GRADE 10: Taylor Anspach, Hattie Dearth, Annabel Pinkney, Elijah Rayl, Matthew Wilcox.

15 minutes with Ryan Radebaugh - from Mt. Blanchard to Ada and on to the world

Ryan, you're from Mt. Blanchard? When did you graduate from high school?

Riverdale High School- 2004

What brought you to Ada?

At ONU I work as an International Services Coordinator.  My job responsibilities include, but are not limited to: Getting students prepared for the arrival to Northwest Ohio, welcoming the students at Ohio Northern University, and develop a support system for any other problems they may face while they are here.  The ultimate goal is to facilitate a positive experience both academically and socially for the students so they may achieve all of their university goals while they are here.

Donald Traxler receives service award from Northwestern Ohio Education Association

Ada resident Don Traxler recently received the Northwestern Ohio Education Association's District Service Award-Retired.

Traxler is retired from a multi-tiered career in education having taught from the elementary to the college level. He obtained his bachelor and master's degrees from Bowling Green State University and his Ph.d. from The Ohio State University.

As a retired member of NWOEA Traxler has been a supporter of the association in many capacities. Currently he is a member of the NWOEA Retired Committee, and uses his background in teacher education to work with college chapters in the association.

Kiwanis Club scholarship winners

Two Ada High School seniors were presented scholarships from the Ada Kiwanis Club on May 16.

The club presented scholarship awards of $1,000 each to Heather Rowe and Mackenzie Fell the annual Ada High School Senior Awards dinner.

Harold Friesner (center), Kiwanis president, presented the awards to Rowe (left) and Fell (right). For the minutes of the recent Kiwanis meeting click here.

Beaschler, Fell, Gray co-valedictorians; Lindsay Simmons salutatorian of AHS class of 2012

Ada High School will honor its graduates of the Class of 2012 on Sunday, May 27, at 2 p.m. in the high school gymnasium. At the Senior Honor Awards ceremony on May 16, it was announced that Christopher Beaschler, Mackenzie Fell and Matthew Gray have earned the honor of Co-Valedictorians, while Lindsay Simmons was named Salutatorian.

Christopher C. Beaschler is the son of Ron and Christy Beaschler of Ada. He will be attending the University of Dayton where he will be majoring in engineering. As a student at Ada High School, Christopher has been an active member of student council, National Honor Society, FFA, Language Club and Sophomore Youth Leadership.

Apollo culinary arts instructor receives ProStart Teacher award

Carrie Hamilton, Apollo Career Center Culinary Arts Instructor, will receive the ProStart  Teacher of Excellence Award, Wednesday, May, 16 in Columbus.

Hamilton is being recognized for being an outstanding Ohio ProStart teacher who has made a significant contribution to the Ohio ProStart program, their school, and community. Hamilton was also recognized in Chicago May 6, with 46 other teachers (one from each state) who received their state award. One culinary teacher across the state receives this award and it is voted on by other teachers, as well as Ohio Restaurant Association staff.